Emergency ZoneEventspartnersplanning Research and ForecastingRelief & RehabZonal Offices

Plateau State Inaugurates Task Force for the Resettlement of Internally Displaced Persons in the State

North Central Zonal Office of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), represented by the Coordinator, Eugene Nyelong, was at the Plateau State Government House today the 25th of March, 2024 where the Governor, Bar. Caleb Mutfwang inaugurated four committees; one of which is the Task Force for the Resettlement of Internally Displaced Persons in the State where the NEMA will play a pivotal role as a member of the committee, thereby bringing its expertise to bare.

The committee will operate by the terms of reference given by the Plateau State Government. However, the Governor made it clear that the committee is not solely limited by it as advice is welcomed to ensure there’s great input and success from all committees geared towards moving the State forward.

The terms of reference the committee is to be guided by are:

  1. To identify the communities displaced within the affected Local Government Areas.
  2. To relocate the Internally Displaced Persons and obtain their statistics.
  3. To ascertain if the displaced committees have been occupied forcefully; with a view to making them secure the returnees.
  4. To establish the necessary requirement that will help in resettling the returnees.
  5. To ensure security measures are put in place.
  6. To make any other recommendation that may assist or help the Government in managing the land related issues.
  7. The Committee is given eight (8) weeks to complete the assignment.

The communities to be resettled include Barkin Ladi, Bokkos, Riyom, Mangu and Bassa.

Present at the inauguration were the Secretary to the State Government, the Chief Judge of Plateau State, the Chief of Staff, members of the Executive Council, Chiefs and Emirs, The Bon Gwom Jos ably represented by the Emir of Wase who also serves as the JNI representative, the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), representatives of the various Local Governments, Chairmen, Secretaries and members of the committee.

Abdulkadir Kezo Ibrahim IkonAllah

Assistant chief Information Officer New Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button